Volunteer Awards

Instead of our usual business meeting and educational program, in December, the Master Gardener Association of Wayne County (MGAWC) holds its annual Volunteer Recognition Night. From the earliest days of MGAWC’s formation in 1984, the group has gathered once a year to celebrate volunteer achievements and recognize quality work.

Volunteer Recognition Night Party

Volunteer Recognition Night Party

The Vera Sullivan Award 

The Vera Sullivan Award has evolved into a lifetime achievement award related to many years of consistent outstanding service to MGAWC and/or Master Gardener projects. The award is named after the first Master Gardener Coordinator in Wayne County. Vera Sullivan encouraged graduates of the Master Gardener training program to form an association of volunteers interested in working together on quality projects. See past recipients. 

The Dean Krauskopf Award 

Established in 2004, the Dean Krauskopf Award focuses specifically on MGAWC’s mission of providing quality educational programming that is affordable and accessible. At the annual volunteer recognition evening, the award is presented to those who organize or offer gardening information that serves the community. The award is named after Dean Krauskopf, Ph.D., who has dedicated his life to sharing information about environmental science and best gardening practices with MSU students, Master Gardeners, horticulture businesses and radio listeners. See past recipients. 


The Growing with Master Gardeners (GMG) Conference Organizing Team (COT) named its annual Above and Beyond Conference Volunteer Award after Nancy Lindley in gratitude for her years of contributions to the GMG conference including highly professional presentations, outstanding selection of plants suitable for Michigan and eagerness to promote the conference among contacts at farmers markets and Great Lakes Roses. Her work over many years reflected the same goal as MGAWC community outreach events:  setting gardeners up for success. See past recipients.